****The MEA family is deeply saddened at the loss of our own J. Scott McGilvray. He stood for honesty and integrity. Scott was a deeply committed husband and father. He was a strong coach, mentor, and a social justice warrior. MEA will be establishing a scholarship in Scott’s name for students who will major in education or political science. Contributions to this fund will be accepted soon.****



MEA Leadership is  currently working on these items:

~ Snow days and how they affect personal/sick/bereavement days – Going before the BOSC

~ Coverage issues (including subs, amount of time, proper pay)

~ Budget for MSD



We have more information on the budget to look at how it will affect the building numbers. We will work closely with HR to make sure all seniority is honored throughout budget, and transfer request season. The Seniority List has been published but not updated on the district website yet. At most schools it is printed once and placed in the Teacher’s Room for perusal. Some principals send it to everyone on email, although that is not the preferred method of publication. Corrected seniority lists are on the MSD website under the For Employees tab. Thank you for keeping a close eye on your status, and contacting your building reps and Angela Sharp in HR for corrections.


The MEA is proud to support the NHFTL (New Hampshire Foundation for Teaching and Learning) who performs pretty amazing things for our students. We encourage you to sign up for the “On Course Fore Kids” Golf Classic at Canterbury Woods on Thursday July 20, 2017. Please email or call for a sign up form.


Check out the events page- we have two more social activities that will benefit PAC!! We will hold another bowling event on May 20. Come have some fun.


Congratulations to the city FIRST Robotics teams!!! Member Nancy McCall will be taking the MST Team to St. Louis for the national competition.

Congratulations to member Ellen Tourigny for being named an advocate for The Society for Science and the Public. She is one of 45 teachers in the country to be honored in Washington D.C. at the Advocate Training Institute.

Congratulations to member Shauna Webber for being named a semifinalist for the 2018 NH Teacher of the Year. Shauna was recognized by the Education Commissioner, and the Teacher of the Year Committee will be visiting Smyth Road to observe Shauna in action.

Congratulations to the first SNHU/MSD cohort, who graduated in May with Master’s Degrees in Educational Leadership, and Curriculum & Instruction.

Congratulations to our retirees!! We had a lovely dinner with retiring members at Belmont Hall.

Retiring this year:

Stephen Amick          Adrienne Baum          Katherine Bell            Evelyn Bergeron            Catherine Cowette

Bonnie Doherty         Priscilla Drouin           Mark Ersick                Kelly Farragher-Paras    Sheila Grace

Patricia Hauck          Elizabeth Holbrook     Ann Houle                  Heather Kyriacopoulos  Carmelle LaMothe

Anita Lemay              Linda Lemay              Reed Marmy-Cotton  Sheryl O’Neil                  Tracy Ouimette

Ellen Philbrook         Stephen Prisby           Nancy Recco             Ruth Richardson             Mary Ellen Russell

Paul Ryder               Diana Seitz                 Michelle Smith            Shauna Smith                 Diane Spaulding

Susan Uzdanovich  Dina Weber