The Political Action Committee of the MEA is chaired by Tom Lynch and Shane Rozamus.

This committee interviews candidates for local offices and makes recommendations to the Executive Board. Committee meetings are held at various times throughout the year, depending on political season. Please refer to the calendar for meeting dates and times.

The PAC often holds fundraising activities throughout the year to build our political action account. This account is used to contribute to candidates who stand with MEA on education issues, and who MEA recommends. Dues dollars do not go toward Political Action.

MEA supported Joyce Craig in the Mayor’s race. Congratulations to Joyce and her team!!! 

Think Education: The MEA asks for all members to contribute $5 each year to build the PAC fund. For every $5 donated, the members name goes into a box used for multiple raffles throughout the year.

The Executive Board approved the following list of candidates for recommendation by the MEA and here are the results:

Ward 1: Alderman -Kevin Cavanaugh WINNER

School Board- Sarah Ambrogi WINNER

Ward 2: Alderman- Will Stewart WINNER

School Board- David Scannell WINNER

Ward 3: Alderman – Pat Long and Tim Baines CLOSE VOTE- RECOUNT

School Board- Mary Ngwanda Georges WINNER

Ward 4: Alderman – Christpoher Herbert WINNER

School Board- Leslie Want WINNER

Ward 5: Alderman- Tony Sapienza WINNER

School Board- Kathy Staub LISA FREEMAN

Ward 6: Alderman- Peter Maccone ELIZABETH MOREAU

School Board- Dan Bergeron WINNER

Ward 7: Alderman- Brenda Noiseux BILL SHEA

School Board- Ethan Moorehouse ROSS TERRIO

Ward 8: Alderman- Betsy DeVries JOHN CATALDO

School Board- Erika Connors JIMMY LEHOUX

Ward 9: Alderman- Barbara Shaw WINNER and James Burkush

Ward 10: Alderman- Bill Barry WINNER

School Board- John Avard WINNER

Ward 11: Alderman- Normand Gamache WINNER

School Board- Kate Desrochers WINNER

Ward 12: Alderman- Hassan Essa KEITH HIRSCHMAN

School Board- Connie Van Houten KELLY THOMAS

At Large: Alderman- Dan O’Neil and Joe Kelly Levasseur

School Board- Nancy Tessier and Richard Girard